I hunted down gluten-free s’mores options for family night. It’s always more fun when everyone can participate. My family doesn’t have any allergens but I am gluten and dairy-free.
With fall weather creeping in, I’ve been aching for a cozy outdoor fire. We have a firepit in the backyard that we never used. I thought why not make s’mores? My son loves watching my husband make indoor fires, so the outdoor one would probably be even more fun. This time, he would get to roast something.
In preparation for family night, I went to pick up the usual smores ingredients: Hershey’s chocolate, graham crackers, and marshmallows. Then I went searching for vegan, gluten-free s’mores options for myself. I didn’t know what I would find but was optimistic.
Thankfully, Target had everything I needed for both s’mores versions. Plus, a bag of marshmallows with ingredients that worked for everyone.
Here are the brands I used to make my gluten-free smores.

Gluten-Free S’mores Ingredients
Vegan gluten-free s’mores chocolate
Many of Hersey’s chocolate bars are free of gluten, but they do contain milk. They also contain other allergens like soy. Different bars by the same brand can have different allergens so it’s always a good idea to check the ingredient list.
For my s’mores, I opted for Hu chocolate. They have a selection of certified organic dark chocolate bars that are free of gluten and dairy. I’m a huge fan of their products. They utilize clean ingredients and are delicious. I was pleasantly surprised to find them available at Target. S’mores are obviously not a “healthy” treat but it’s nice when you can swap in healthier ingredients that also taste delicious.
Gluten-free graham crackers
When I began this quest for gluten-free s’mores alternatives, I wasn’t sure if I’d find an allergen-friendly graham cracker. You can’t complete a s’mores without something to hold it together. As I was perusing the aisles at Target, I discovered a vegan, gluten-free graham cracker by Partake Foods. Sometimes gluten-free and vegan foods can fall apart but these held up well.
Do marshmallows have gluten?
Are marshmallows gluten free? Yes, MOST marshmallows in the United States are gluten free. However, there is a chance of cross-contamination. It’s always a good idea to read the bag to be sure. I purchased gluten-free marshmallows from Target’s Good and Gather brand. They are labeled gluten-free. They are also free of artificial flavors and colors. These are not healthy by any means, but they worked well!

Healthy smores additions
If you want a healthy addition to your traditional smores, you can layer in sliced strawberries. They add a fun pop of color and a little freshness to this heavy treat.
Also, if you’re not interested in hunting down individual ingredients, I found this gourmet s’mores kit that includes gluten-free sourdough graham crackers and fine raw chocolate. YUM.
S’mores Sticks
Last but not least, you need sticks to roast your marshmallows. We used these long roasting sticks for our outdoor firepit. They are made with non-toxic stainless steel and extend up to 32 inches to keep kids a safe distance from the fire. These worked great for us.
Final Thoughts: Gluten-Free S’mores Options for Family Night
Family s’mores night was largely a hit! We had a beautiful fall evening. Our 3-year-old enjoyed roasting marshmallows over the fire, even more so than eating the s’mores. I was able to participate, too. The gluten-free, vegan s’mores ingredients worked out well. It was a fun way to end the day after pumpkin and apple picking. Lot’s of fun fall activities packed into one weekend.
If you’re interested in other gluten-free, dairy-free treats, these Jam Dot cookies are amazing!


